Blueberry Pie

Hi , this week I made blueberry pie:

My blueberry pie

My blueberry pie

For the pastry, which was called common family paste for pies, you will need:

White flour 1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose, plus extra for dusting

salt, scant 1/2 teaspoon

lard 1/3 cup ( 5 tablespoons)

butter, 1/2 teaspoon

chill all ingredients  and bowl in fridge. Rinse hands in cold water  and dry them. Prepare a cup of ice water. In the bowl  mix flour and salt. Add the lard to the flour and rub in with fingers.  When breadcrumb like add three tablespoons of iced cold water.  Form a dough ball and place in the fridge to cool.

Once cooled quickly roll the pastry and place on top of the pie dish, trimming the edges.  I used enough blueberries to line my dish and then some! Finally I laid some pastry over the fruit and I sprinkled some sugar on top of the pastry, although I had not added anything to the blueberries.

I baked in the oven at 180 degrees for about 25-30 minutes.  It was very good!

Yummy!

Yummy!

Edited by mum to add:  Although she posted the original recipe (from the little house recipe book) this wasn’t the recipe L10 ended up using.

8 thoughts on “Blueberry Pie

  1. The pie looks delicious. My sister likes blueberries a lot. I am excited to see what you are going to do next.

    REESE

  2. Yum yum. I LOVE blueberries. I like the ‘and then some’! Pies need to be well filled. This sounds like the method of pastry making we were taught at school. See you all SOON. xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

